Alex Dowsett omitted from Movistar’s Tour de France 2016 line-up

Nairo Quintana's Movistar and Fabio Aru's Astana name fiercely strong squads to challenge Chris Froome and Team Sky

British time trial champion Alex Dowsett will miss the 2016 Tour de France after Movistar omitted the Essex man from the final nine-man squad who will take to the Mont-Saint-Michel startline on Saturday (July 2).

Dowsett was originally pencilled in to ride the Giro d’Italia this year but a crash at the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon forced him to readjust his season’s targets.

But the 27-year-old was unable to force his way into Movistar’s nine-man line-up, centred on last year’s runner-up Nairo Quintana, for the Tour de France.

Alex Dowsett will not ride the 2016 Tour de France (pic: Simon Wilkinson/

The Spanish team confirmed their line-up for the race, which also includes last year’s third-place finisher Alejandro Valverde – the Spaniard racing on the back of his third-place finish at the Giro d’Italia.

The team is packed with climbers, with Spain’s Dani Moreno and Colombian Winner Anacona also selected, alongside brothers Ion and Gorka Izagirre.

Nelson Oliveira of Portugal and Spanish duo Imanol Erviti and Jesus Herrada complete the line-up, with Quintana looking to better his two second-place finishes from 2013 and 2015.

Winner of the Giro d’Italia in 2014, that victory at the Corsa Rosa remains Quintana’s only Grand Tour victory to date but the Colombian has already won the Volta a Catalunya, Tour de Romandie and Route du Sud this season.

Quintana will challenge defending champion Chris Froome (Team Sky) for the yellow jersey, alongside BMC Racing duo Richie Porte and Tejay van Garderen.

Alberto Contador’s Tinkoff team is still to be decided, but Fabio Aru – winner of last year’s Vuelta a Espana – will lead a phenomenally strong Astana team.

After their Giro d’Italia exploits, Vincenzo Nibali and Alejandro Valverde will ride the Tour de France in support of Fabio Aru and Nairo Quintana respectively (pic: Sirotti)

The Kazakh team have named Giro d’Italia Vincenzo Nibali and key mountain domestiques Jakob Fuglsang, 12th at the Giro d’Italia, and Diego Rosa – a top-ten finisher at the Criterium du Dauphine in Aru’s support squad.

Giro del Trentino runner-up, Estonia’s Tanel Kangert, is also selected for Astana while Ukrainian Andrei Grivko, Spain’s Luis Leon Sanchez, Italian veteran Paolo Tiralongo and Alexey Lutsenko – the team’s lone representative from Kazakhstan this year – complete the line-up.

Movistar for the 2016 Tour de France

Nairo Quintana (COL)
Alejandro Valverde (ESP)
Daniel Moreno (ESP)
Winner Anacona (COL)
Ion Izagirre (ESP)
Gorka Izagirre (ESP)
Imanol Erviti (ESP)
Jesus Herrada (ESP)
Nelso Oliveira (POR)

Astana for the 2016 Tour de France

Fabio Aru (ITA)
Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
Jakob Fuglsang (DEN)
Diego Rosa (ITA)
Tanel Kangert (EST)
Andrei Grivko (UKR)
Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP)
Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ)
Paolo Tiralongo (ITA)

Sponsored by


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.