Madison Genesis announce five new riders in 2018 squad

George Atkins and Mike Cuming among fresh faces at Madison Genesis for 2018

Madison Genesis have made five new signings ahead of the 2018 season, with George Atkins and Mike Cuming both returning to the top level of UK domestic racing.

Atkins, a former British junior road race champion and Commonwealth Games silver medallist, last raced for JTL Condor in 2016 having previously represented One Pro Cycling and Team Raleigh. Former Tour de Korea winner Cuming, meanwhile, claimed the British under-23 title in 2012 and raced for the Neon Velo squad last season.

Former mountain biker Isaac Mundy, sprinter Neil van der Ploeg, and 23-year-old George Pym also join the team, while Taylor Gunman, Rich Handley, Matt Holmes, Tobyn Horton, Johnny McEvoy, Erick Rowsell and Connor Swift will ride on for another season.

Madison Genesis’ 12-man roster for 2018 includes five new riders

The team’s most impressive results in 2017 included two Tour Series victories for Swift and fifth overall for Holmes at the Tour de Yorkshire.

And newly-appointed team boss Colin Sturgess is hoping the latest squad’s blend of youth and experience will reap similar results in 2018.

“The Madison Genesis 2018 team holds much promise with some exciting prospects,” said Sturgess. “What I particularly like is that we have depth of experience and riders with race-craft and nous.

“Sure, there are a couple of the guys that are a bit green still, but they are in an ideal environment in which to learn their metier.

“We start with no one designated ‘leader’, but a group of ‘leaders’ throwing open many options. We have climbers, we have sprinters, we have rouleurs, we have guys that can ride a fast TT, can win criteriums. Every single rider on this team can and will win bike races, and as I’ve said previously I like to see guys win with professionalism and panache.

“Over the next couple of months the interplay between riders will become more and more cohesive and I’m looking forward to seeing the guys ride as a well drilled and successful team adding to our already impressive palmares.”

Matt Cronshaw, Gruff Lewis, Alex Paton, Alex Blain and Joe Evans have departed the team.

Madison Genesis 2018 team roster

George Atkins
Mike Cuming
Taylor Gunman
Rich Handley
Matt Holmes
Tobyn Horton
Johnny McEvoy
Isaac Mundy
Neil van der Ploeg
George Pym
Erick Rowsell
Connor Swift


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.